Just another WordPress.com site

In 1969 Shinichi Suzuki wrote ‘Nurtured by Love: The Classic Approach to Talent Education.’ His book is less about a rigorous lock-step teaching method, and much more about an approach to learning that mirrors the most recent work by Steven Katz and Lisa Ain Dack (‘Intentional Interruption,’ 2013). According to Katz and Dack, “real new learning. . .takes the form of permanent changes in thinking and practice.” If this is true, and I believe that it is, then Shinichi Suzuki was a man well ahead of his time.  Unassuming, patient and loving, Suzuki sought to nurture his students so that they became good citizens who achieved success in whatever path they chose to follow. Now, I’m not familiar with the Suzuki Method, and I have no musical training whatsoever. I couldn’t imagine what Shinichi’s book would have to teach me. And yet, its deep and gentle wisdoms resonated within me, caused me to reflect on my leadership practice, and have reaffirmed my belief that everyone can learn, each of us has potential, and that perseverance and intentionality are crucial to success.

 

“In the beginning, forbearance and patience decide one’s fate. Why? If we endure and continue to expend energy to achieve a goal, the necessary patience will develop; thus, our capacity to achieve will grow and grow. This attained ability will help us to work much easier, at the same time building up our energy and perseverance.” Shinichi Suzuki. 

 

Suzuki was a friend and colleague of Dr. Albert Einstein, who modeled modesty and kindness and from whom he learned about harmony. “In order to achieve it, one person must gracefully give in to the other, and it is nobler to be the one who gives in than the one who forces the other to give in. Harmony cannot be achieved any other way.” Wow. Imagine a school where teachers model this for their students, and administrators model this belief for the school staff. Consider for a moment the remarkable things that might be accomplished if everyone shared this mindset. Suzuki espouses a permanent change, a new belief system.

 

“My prayer,” says Suzuki, “is that all children on this globe may become fine human beings, happy people of superior ability, and I am devoting all my energies to making this come about, for I am convinced that all children are born with this potential.” Permanent changes in thinking and practice are absolutely the hallmark of Suzuki’s beliefs. I’m only sorry that today, we find ourselves enthralled by ‘new’ ideas that are so very like those Suzuki suggested more than 40 years ago.

Leave a comment